Need Guidance (Complete beginner)

Hi everybody,

I am a complete beginner looking into real estate investing and need some help.

To make a long story short, the apartment building in which I’m living in right now has been sold and I’m being evicted.

I live with my mom (on welfare) and little brother (too young for a job). I recently graduated college and working at an entry level position. We don’t have anywhere to go.

I’ve been doing research on real estate investing and learning about hard money and private money lenders that can help me in purchasing a house but I’ve never done this before and need guidance from somewhere.

Is anybody, with experience, willing to discuss this and help me figure it out?

Is it realistic to use a private money lender or hard money lender to buy a 2 family house and rent out the 2nd apartment to help me pay the lender back?

I have 30 days to figure something out or my family and I will be homeless.

I’m going to add the details since I posted this question on yahoo answers and everybody bashed me. Maybe I’m just being too ambitious, I don’t know. I need some one with knowledge to help me.

So heres the story:

I live in NYC in a family owned apartment. Because of this, my mother was able to live here while paying a rent that is way below the average in this neighborhood. My uncle who owned the building passed away and the building was sold by somebody on his wife’s side of the family. We’ve been here for 4 generations(great grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I) which makes this not only difficult financially but also emotionally. My mother has been disabled since I was 7 so she can’t work and due to this, we can’t afford anything else anywhere else in NYC where the rent for a studio is around $1500 (we live in a 3 bedroom apartment so imagine the rent for that!)