Where to Start?

I am 57 years old, a complete and utter novice to real estate investing. I have some savings and I am exceptionally creditworthy. I want to invest in real estate, so that I can retire comfortably. I need to do so wisely, because I can’t afford to lose my investment.

I previously held a salesperson’s licence in HI, and I previously held a Broker’s licence in IL. But, I know very little about real estate investing, and I am just beginning to educate myself on the subject. I plan to attend the next local real estate investment club meeting.

I work a full-time job, so I don’t have time to find and/or call 100s of homeowners to find one that’s willing to sell at below-market value. I don’t know the first thing about rehabbing, but I have a close friend who does this for a living. If I bought a property that needed rehabbing, I would probably hire him to do the work. I don’t know the first thing about finding/buying foreclosures.

I am meeting with a realtor tomorrow to look at buying my first home. I’m looking at 2 and 3 bdrm townhomes and I’m planning on using conventional financing. (I can see you all cringing right now.) In the book, I’m currently reading “How to Invest in Real Estate” by Eldrid, he suggests starting out by purchasing a multi-unit property, living in one unit, and renting the other(s). He also suggests leverging the loan to the extent possible (taking out a 3% loan) to take advantage of the lower owner-occupant financing rates and tax benefits when selling. I had planned to put 20% down to avoid PMI. (more cringing?) After a year, move and repeat the process to build a portfolio.

So, I don’t know if I should abandon the idea of looking for a townhome for myself or look for a multi-unit property or what??? Should I buy a home for myself, and then look for an investment property? Any ideas and/or suggestions you could offer would be invaluable and greatly appreciated.