Virtual Investing

Anybody doing deals from home using only a computer, internet access, and a cell phone?

Virtual investing?

JimFisher said, “Anybody doing deals from home using only a computer, internet access, and a cell phone?”

I know many investors - none doing “virtual investing”. Houses are very hard to buy and sell without looking at them. Pictures and words just isn’t enough to know what a house is all about - they can be very deceiving sometimes. I do know some investors get a lot of their leads, both buying and selling, with websites.

Or, maybe you work virtual, but have inspectors, appraisers, a partner, etc. looking at houses for you (but personally, I wouldn’t do that). I sometimes make offers on houses without seeing them, but I can do that because I have 15 years experience knowing certain areas, houses, prices, etc., combined with address, pictures, size, etc. Also, when I do that, the second my offer gets accepted, I go check out the house and do my inspection (offer subject to inspection - almost all standard R.E. contracts state that).

IMHO, about the only real estate dealings that really lend themselves to being truly close to virtual, would be wholesaling. It can be much more simple than buy and hold or flipping. You would want buy contracts that state you are advertising the house to a big buyers list, and you are only buying it if you are able to sell it. This way, if you get contracts on houses that are not bargains, you can walk away. You build a big buyers list, set up some way for your potential buyers to look at the house, and if somebody wants it, they come to you to do a deposit and contract. Sell only to serious cash buyers that can close fast. I still think it will require some real world work from time to time, but it can come closer to “virtual investing” than anything else.

Hope that helps.

Best wishes,
Chris in FL