Selecting The Right Investment Property To Rehab

I am an investor, I have done 3 properties and I am still learning as I go. Basically I am trying to break out of the traditional handyman specials where you have to gut everything and try to renovate properties that are in pretty good condition and just need some minor repairs and updated cosmetics.It has been kind of hard to distinguish the difference between the decent fixer uppers vs the homes already in move-in condition.

Thus, how do I avoid properties that are already in move-in condition and have been priced to reflect that value?
VS
How do I choose the right property that is priced below value and may be (dated or need some repairs and cosmetic fix up) rehabbed in order to get a good resell profit?

Good question. I confronted the same issues when I started RE investing in the early 1980’s.

I decided not to go into heavy rehabs because my wife and I both had professional jobs that paid well. What we wanted is buy properties as rentals and eventually have enough cash flow so one of us can quit working and do RE or pursue other endeavors full time.

Fortunately, my wife worked as a licensed RE agent paying her way through graduate school. She had a theory which she calls the “100 house rule”. Basically, if you look at 100 houses, there’ll be a fluke, and one would cause it to be so underpriced that would make it a good investment, either as a rental, or a flip.

At the time, I never heard of such a rule and don’t know if it’s even workable, so I asked “are you sure it works?” Her answer: “All you have to do is see 2 or 3 houses a week, that’s 10 a month, and within a year you’ll get to see 100 houses. Isn’t that better than just sitting around?”.