1031 Exchange Question - Posted by David_NJ

Posted by Nate on January 16, 2001 at 20:55:16:

I am not a lawyer or a CPA, so my comments have no basis in law or regulation. My limited understanding, which is based mostly on Robert Bruss’ columns, is as follows:

To do a 1031 exchange, you must exchange LIKE KIND property. This means, you must exchange real property held for investment, for other real property held for investment. You cannot get any “boot” (the legal term) or unlike-kind property. For example, you could not do a tax-deferred exchange from a rental property into property that would be used as your personal residence, nor into a boat or an airplane.

I guess the question, then, is whether or not the sale qualifies. On the one hand, I could see it not being allowed. You are trading real property for real property, but you are also getting “boot” (i.e. a note, which is an asset that is NOT real property). That is not allowed.

I don’t know if characterizing the sale as an installment sale changes anything or not. I hope your CPA or attorney comes up with an answer that is in your favor.

Good luck,
Nate

1031 Exchange Question - Posted by David_NJ

Posted by David_NJ on January 16, 2001 at 20:08:32: