1st REI club meeting help needed!!! - Posted by Ray - AZ

Posted by eric-fl on August 08, 2003 at 16:27:16:

I have the same problem on #2. It’s like you don’t want to be rude, but at the same time, most newbies with no capital aren’t going to be there in 6 months, and I know I’m wasting my time, which drives me crazy…

1st REI club meeting help needed!!! - Posted by Ray - AZ

Posted by Ray - AZ on August 07, 2003 at 13:57:01:

I plan on attending my 1st REI club meeting this coming Tues. Right now I’m interested in birddogging while I’m still learning. Now networking is not one of my strong points so I was wondering what would be the best way to go as far as finding people to birddog for?..also as a little side note, what is the dress usually at these meetings(Jeans/t-shirt,business casual,or what)??

Re: 1st REI club meeting help needed!!! - Posted by Christopher - WA

Posted by Christopher - WA on August 07, 2003 at 22:48:32:

Ray,
I’d like to make two suggestions on how to maximize your exposure at the meeting.
1.) Make something (perhaps a small flyer) to put on the business card table if there is one. I made business cards targeted specifically at networking and had good results.
2.) Circulate! Leave a business card and move on. At the few meetings I’ve been to, I always seem to get trapped in conversations with the first few people I meet - whether or not they can be of use to me, or I to them. I don’t know how to gracefully move on to the next contact. If you can introduce yourself to the entire group at once, that would be the most efficient and effective. Then interested parties can come to you.
Good luck and enjoy!

Re: 1st REI club meeting help needed!!! - Posted by RichV(FL)

Posted by RichV(FL) on August 07, 2003 at 18:24:12:

Ray,

Just get in there and start talking to people. Make yourself known. Do you have some business cards?

Some clubs let people leave cards on a table. Its kind of a nice touch.