55+ parks- stay away? - Posted by Bill

Posted by Phil Pelletier on June 30, 2003 at 18:58:03:

I am less diplomatic than Gentleman Steve from Washington. You are just NUTS! If you reread your post, the ONLY idea to come out of it is YOU taking credit for the idea of selling for cash and accusing Steve of selling on a note (“with the possibilities of missed rent, forclosure {it’s repo, by the way, forclosure is the legal process to re-aquire Real property}, etc”)

Read the post! You must see the folly in your agrument!

Phil Pelletier

55+ parks- stay away? - Posted by Bill

Posted by Bill on June 25, 2003 at 10:16:29:

I’m just getting started, and I’m looking for feedback regarding 55+ parks. Thanks for your help in advance!

Re: 55+ parks- stay away? - Posted by Ray-SRQ

Posted by Ray-SRQ on June 25, 2003 at 21:27:15:

I’d love to know what other’s experiences have been with the 55+ parks. I’m surrounded by them - they seem to be the majority here.

The search engine here won’t let me search with the term 55 or 55+ for some odd reason.

Ray

Re: 55+ parks - stay away? Hell no!! - Posted by Mr. C

Posted by Mr. C on June 25, 2003 at 15:54:40:

1. Make sure your buying a mobile home or a “park model”, not an “rv”. If it doesn’t have a pitched factory-type roof, don’t touch it. Learn what the differances are so you don’t get stuck with a lemon you can’t sell.

2. Phoenix and Yuma are subject to seasonal sales in the 55+ buyer (read - snowbirds). Plan on longer holding times, advertising and lot rent.

3. Don’t be dead set on carrying a note. Most of the buyers in this age group have been brainwashed by their peers into believing that paying cash is better than making payments. Take the money anyway you can get it.

4. For some inexplicable reason, many lonnie-dealers seem to think that they can put a 35 year old with a wife and 3 kids into a home in a 55+ park. It don’t work that way… 55+ means 55+. Refer to item # 2.