A gold mine or waste of time? - Posted by Southern Yankee

Posted by ski on March 12, 2006 at 05:39:36:

And what would a rehab get you? It would be the best looking house in the hood. Will it sell? NO! Why? Who could afford to either buy or rent? My take on these areas is either stay out or buy cheap, rent cheap, and evict often. Many “slumlords” make out very well because the cost of operation is reletivly cheap. They will have a hard time selling to anyone else but another slumlord.

A gold mine or waste of time? - Posted by Southern Yankee

Posted by Southern Yankee on March 12, 2006 at 01:59:29:

In my city there is a spread-out, run-down neighborhood, afflicted with hookers, crackheads, and whinos. Most, if not all the homes there, could use a major rehab. Many are boarded up, and waiting to be condemned. The properties here range from small houses, to older and larger Victorians. Basically, this is area could be thought of as white-trash city.

I am new to REI, and am wondering, is this area a potential rehab/foreclosure goldmine? There are other rehab investors in town, if thats the case, wouldn’t they be jumping in to these projects? Or would this whole chunk of town be a waste of time, since I wouldn’t think that people would be lining up to move there, or buy homes there. What imput could you all offer?

Re: A gold mine or waste of time? - Posted by Chris in FL

Posted by Chris in FL on March 16, 2006 at 14:42:12: