A newbie looking for advise - Posted by John Smith, IV

Posted by John Smith, IV on September 13, 2003 at 21:09:57:

Is it the general consensus that Lonnie’s materials are a must?

It certainly sounds like higher yields should be much higher than RE notes, which seem to be at the lower end of the note yield spectrum.

A newbie looking for advise - Posted by John Smith, IV

Posted by John Smith, IV on September 13, 2003 at 14:49:16:

As I said, I am a newbie.

Is the MH niche in the note business worth the risk?

My question really is, is the potential for higher yields, worth the risks?

Then my next question is, where to start?

Sorry IRS, I prefer IRA - Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA NV

Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA NV on September 13, 2003 at 15:57:35:

Yes yes three bags full. It sure is worth the risk. Warren Buffet did more with less (see below). Start right in your own backyard. Here is how, step by step:

A. Put on waders or hip boots.

1. Run a paid ad on CREonline, and you should be flooded with high yield notes from this board.

2. Start out by only buying notes close to home for inspection purposes, for ease of dealing with payors, and in case you need to take one back and resell it.

3. Be selective, try to deal with ethical note sellers who have plenty of assets and good credit, even if they won’t be paying on the note.

The man with the gold makes the rules. Isn’t that the Golden Rule? Well then make some RECOURSE rules for your protection.

You can always buy notes on a recourse basis if you wish. If they go bad the seller guaranatees them and will step in and take them back, usually substituting another note until he fixes the old one. This is why its important to deal with quality note sellers, people with excellent reputations for fair dealing, who will stand behind their notes. This should be the only way you buy them at any appreciable distance from your home, or while you are a beginner in this field.