A question for those of you who are experienced. - Posted by David Mitchell

Posted by Jackie in Dallas on May 25, 1999 at 21:25:54:

We have a similar organization in the Dallas area . They sellers pay a flat fee upfront. This is NOT the same as a listing agreement so there’s nothing to worry about.

A question for those of you who are experienced. - Posted by David Mitchell

Posted by David Mitchell on May 25, 1999 at 20:57:58:

I’m a beginner and I’m wanting to get started doing Lease/Options a la Ron LeGrand techniques.

In my city, I have found a FSBO publication (will continue to look for more).

In this particular publication, the organization that puts out the publication does the following for the advertiser:
provides market analysis
provides professional For Sale signs
provides three forms of advertising
maintains a buyer database
prequalifies the buyers
handles the contracts
assists the buyers w/ financing
coordinates the closing
and helps w/ relocations

All of this in return for a fee paid from the seller when the house is sold.

Now, my question is… If I would be able to interest a seller in a lease/option arrangement, would he/she have a problem getting out of the obligations to this publication that is providing all of these services in return for a fee? Obviously, with a lease/option agreement, the seller would retain ownership of the home for a period of time and would not have sold the property, but do these types of organizations have clauses in their contracts with the advertisers that prevent this type of thing from happening? The publication that I am talking about is “Homeowners Concept” which supposedly has a nationwide network. Maybe some of you have heard of it before.

Any insights on this situation would be appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
David Mitchell

Re: A question for those of you who are experienced. - Posted by Mike Harrison

Posted by Mike Harrison on May 26, 1999 at 12:43:06: