abandoned school (Atlanta,GA) - Posted by Stephen Ford

Posted by michaela-ATL on May 06, 2004 at 15:53:58:

Stephen,
Not that I have any experience with schools, but this is how I would go about it:
I’d go to the GA REIA office and check in the computer who the owner of record is. ALso, how long ago they’ve purchased and for how much.

Also, check with the neighbors and find out what kind fo school it was: elementary, high school, middle school and then find out what is the corresponding school for the neighborhood presently. Check with that school in regards to ownership. Take it from there.

Michaela

abandoned school (Atlanta,GA) - Posted by Stephen Ford

Posted by Stephen Ford on May 06, 2004 at 08:36:06:

I’ve got an old abandoned school near my area that is a haven for the homeless. How would I be able to begin the process of getting this building for converting to lofts or possibly affordable housing (I’m still a newbie that would hand it over to some other developer after starting the process). I say possible affordable housing because the area’s home owner’s assosition has gone out of their way to block any new, higher priced homes or buildings coming into the area.

Thanks,
Stephen

Re: abandoned school (Atlanta,GA) - Posted by michaela-ATL

Posted by michaela-ATL on May 06, 2004 at 12:26:05:

Stephen,
are you sure this building isn’t already earmarked for developement? I can’t imagine any abandoned school building wthin the city of atlanta, that ahsn’t been looked at for loft living. Pittsburgh, mechanicsville, east atlanta, east point etc. I hope you got a great deal, but make sure it’s not already under cotnract before you spend a lot of time on it. (one of the signs is, that there’s a relatively new fence around the perimeter - or one of those ‘rent-a-fence’)

Michaela

Re: abandoned school (Atlanta,GA) - Posted by Matt ( Mi )

Posted by Matt ( Mi ) on May 06, 2004 at 09:26:47: