Advantages of a C Corp vs. an S Corp... - Posted by Ed (NY)

Posted by Frank Chin on August 26, 2003 at 16:40:09:

Hi Matt:

I file as a partnership for the LLC, thus the 1065. If you’re a single member LLC, then you’re a schedule C filer by default.

You can even elect to file as a “S Corp” for an LLC.

Suggest you use a CPA for the very first return - then use Turbo Tax thereafter.

Frank Chin

Advantages of a C Corp vs. an S Corp… - Posted by Ed (NY)

Posted by Ed (NY) on August 26, 2003 at 09:32:47:

I’m relatively new to RE investing (I don’t own any properties as of yet), and I’m looking into wholesaling and flipping properties.

I’m looking to incorporate, and it seems like many inverstors who incorporate for the purpose of flipping properties do so in the form of a C Corporation.

I’m an accountant, and I can’t see the benefits of forming a C Corp. as opposed to an S Corp. for individuals. I know that an S Corp, shareholders cannot deduct shareholder med. benefits, and if you re-invest the profits (i.e. not take any distributions), you can aviod double taxation. In addition, in most situations C Corp tax rates are less than that of individuals.

In my mind, these benefits can’t offset double taxation that occurs when you do take profits, and I would like to here other points of view on the matter. Thanks!

Re: Advantages of a C Corp vs. an S Corp… - Posted by Frank Chin

Posted by Frank Chin on August 26, 2003 at 10:21:34:

Hi Ed:

I’m not a CPA, but I have an LLC, C Corp, and S Corp.

As for me, the C Corp services as a management company for my RE activities, plus provide office services for the LLC. The C Corp bills the other entities for services performed.