Agent/REI Combos? - Posted by Charles

Posted by GJ on March 10, 2000 at 20:47:52:

Do you disclose in any of your ads?

Agent/REI Combos? - Posted by Charles

Posted by Charles on March 10, 2000 at 03:31:11:

I would like to hear from any licensed re agents also doing investing. I’m a re agent in SW Florida and my questions deal with disclosure. Aside from the obvious of disclosing that I am an agent on an offer or contract what else do you do? For instance:

1. If you find a junker and the only way to contact the owner is by mail, do you state you are an agent in the inital letter?

2. If a seller is willing to sell to you below FMV because he is really motivated, do you have to give him a CMA (and get him to sign it) just so he won’t roll over on you afterwards?

3. To what extent do you go to prevent the perception, by the courts if it comes to that, that you took advantage of an unsuspecting civilian?

I know the laws are different in every state, but all responses would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Agent/REI Combos? - Posted by Steve C., Houstonal-pc.org

Posted by Steve C., Houstonal-pc.org on March 12, 2000 at 10:52:41:

I am an agent and have asked the same question, since I work with investors and want to invest myself. Always disclose at the first meeting and get them to sign your state’s forms. Document the conversations thoroughly. Also make it clear (in writing) that you in no way represent the seller, and that the seller is fully aware of the FMV of the property. If you plan to buy and hold, you will probably be OK. The most dangerous transaction is to buy a property below market and flip it to a buyer who is waiting in the wings. If you already have a buyer who will pay more for the property you are buying, both parties will probably sue you big time.

Disclose, Disclose, Disclose… - Posted by David(Ca)

Posted by David(Ca) on March 10, 2000 at 09:48:25:

Yes, because you are an agent you must: