any depressed mkts on the verge of a rebound? - Posted by austin

Posted by phil fernandez on November 04, 1998 at 18:48:37:

Well said Stacy.

any depressed mkts on the verge of a rebound? - Posted by austin

Posted by austin on November 04, 1998 at 11:36:15:

I had serveral friends that bought houses and duplexes in austin,tx and denver,co. about 6 years ago. On average if they bought a property for 60k, they were able to sell it recently for over a 100k.

Here’s my question, wouldn’t it make sense to invest in cities that have been depressed that are now getting ready to rebound? Seems like a no brainer.

Also, how do you find out what cities are on the verge of rebounding? Thanks for any advice (I’m new at this)

Re: any depressed mkts on the verge of a rebound? - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on November 06, 1998 at 15:23:05:

Austin,

I would like the answer to that one too. However, the “rebound” part isn’t a prerequisite. In our business we look for areas experiencing a depressed real estate market (we show people how to dispose of mariginal equity, no equity and overencumbered homes using the land trust as a conveancy vehicle).

Good question. Keep me in mind if you run across anyone who knows where the tough spots are.

Bill

Re: any depressed mkts on the verge of a rebound? - Posted by Kevin(OK)

Posted by Kevin(OK) on November 04, 1998 at 22:53:16:

I am finding that there are “depressed” markets within “hot” markets. Many locations in my city are just beginning to rebound. Look for these.

Kevin(OK)

Re: any depressed mkts on the verge of a rebound? - Posted by Stacy (AZ)

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on November 04, 1998 at 12:03:42: