Anybody else notice a slowdown in buyers? Ed? Terry? Jim? - Posted by SteveA (FL)

Posted by Laure on May 12, 2000 at 07:43:58:

We just finished all of our “millenium stew”. Now working on the beans. I don’t recommend visiting us at our home anytime in the near future… we are burning incense in anticipation of the flatulance !

Laure :slight_smile:

Anybody else notice a slowdown in buyers? Ed? Terry? Jim? - Posted by SteveA (FL)

Posted by SteveA (FL) on May 11, 2000 at 06:46:10:

Admittedly, I’m a beginner and have been studying CRE for 6 months. I’ve made 2 offers and I am getting ready to make another, so I consder myself “on my way.” But I have been in the professional world for 12 years.

One thing that is beginning to concern me is how the average listing time is increasing in this area. My Realtor has commented several times about how a lot of listings are being reduced 2 and 3 times and listing times are lengthening. I live in a very desirable n’hood where homes usually sell in a matter of days but recently, they’re listing for several weeks or even months.

Any input on why you think this is happening? What’s your prediction for the next year? The home I have my eye on has been listed for 4 months and has just been reduced. I know rates are creeping up but they’re still good and the economy is in great shape which would make me think there are still a lot of buyers out there.

As a side, I’ve been trying to sell my '98 Ford Ranger for 2 months now, too. I’ve had trucks in the past and they always sell quickly, but this one isn’t. Are consumers tightening their belts or are things just “so good” that they’re buying new assets instead of resales?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Anybody else notice a slowdown in buyers? Ed? Terry? Jim? - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on May 11, 2000 at 20:54:02:

No slowdown in Central Florida. In fact there are tons of buyers and not enough houses to go around.