Anyone doing long distance investing - Posted by Bill Blanton

Posted by Sailor on December 16, 2006 at 12:23:44:

Tip for searching the Archives–find a good poster & search for
that name. You’ll find things you wouldn’t otherwise.

I have bought long distance, but it was either raw land or w/a mgt
co. in place. The latter properties were stick-built.

Tye

Anyone doing long distance investing - Posted by Bill Blanton

Posted by Bill Blanton on December 16, 2006 at 09:27:34:

I am presently a Business Ed teacher and plan on retiring in about eight years as a teacher. After that, I am going to drive a school bus to build my retirement years and keep my benefits.

I bought a mobile home/land deal in the area in which I want to retire/work. I am renting the mobile home and have been successful. I have bought another unit and have been very successful. The area is about 250 miles away. We average traveling down there about once a month for business and pleasure.

I would like to hear from others about their successes and failures in doing long distance deals. As I stated before in this forum, I have the cash but no deals. I want to do it on my own, so no solicitations – just advice. After Christmas, I plan on visiting every MH park and talking to the PM’s. This is fun.

Love the forum. Hope to hear from someone doing the same. Email me if you want to talk privately.

Re: Anyone doing long distance investing - Posted by osupsycho (OK)

Posted by osupsycho (OK) on December 18, 2006 at 11:17:20:

I have been doing a bit of distance investing but no where near that distance as mine are about an hours drive away. I would say that there are some real challenges that come up but it sounds like you have the stuff in place to overcome this.

For me the biggest issues have been the following:

-Government offices only open during hours I can’t get there.
-Not being able to go and show a home at the times available for the possible buyer.
-Emergency repairs
-Utilities setup