Anyone ever done an assignment this way??? - Posted by Barbara_NY

Posted by Barbara_NY on December 03, 1999 at 16:25:32:

Hey Jim,

Good points all. First, technically the down payment I refer to is earnest money. However, in the New York City area earnest money, when asked for by a realtor, is minimal ($100 - $500) and provided along with the OFFER and held in escrow (usually not even cashed, just held by the realtor or the seller). If the offer is accepted it is applied to any contract price.

Being that the New York city area is a hugh seller’s market it is rare not to be expected to put down a down payment at the time the contract is signed. I’ve been working deals on a full time basis for nearly 9 months and two years prior on a part time basis. I consider myself very creative, but have never been successful at getting a seller’s attorney to allow a contract to be signed without receiving a down payment. I usually pay between $1,500 & $5,000; otherwise there are plenty of others behind me who will and get the deals. The investor market here is strong. Please also note that a deal cannot easily be closed without an attorney in New York so the attorneys have really set the rules.

I’ve done my deals as you have when the earnest money (or in my case the down payment) is paid by me and reimbursed by my end buyer. However, I’m finding more deals and getting more investor requests that I have funds to place down as a down payment. That’s why I’ve been seeking another solution so I don’t have to miss out on any opportunities. For example: I had a single investor ask for 26 properties by the end of the year. There is NO way I can front that kind of money and I don’t work with enough private investors who could front it to me either.