Approach Method - Posted by Matt in SD

Posted by Ben in Ohio on April 20, 2000 at 07:09:34:

Before you walk think of Wayne Gretzky’s sage advice
" You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take."

Approach Method - Posted by Matt in SD

Posted by Matt in SD on April 19, 2000 at 17:27:41:

I’m a newbie on the boards here. My partner and I have been reading, learning and searching and we are now ready to jump in. Our strategy is to try to flip a couple of houses and then work our way into investments in single home and multi-unit rentals as we gain cash and experience.

We recently searched a nearby lower-income neighborhood to find a good target and found a dilapidated house with overgrown lawn, terrible cosmentics, ivy actually growing into the a/c etc. We assumed it was abandoned, but after talking with a neighbor we found that an old lady, her daughter and grandson live there.

Now, this home is in the middle of a very nice neighborhood (well kept homes, low-income but not a war-zone, etc.) Homes in the immediate area are selling at $110k - $150k depending on size and condition. The SD market is hot, so most houses are selling in a matter of weeks.

We think it could be a good deal but feel that we need to gather more information and, of course, need to approach the owner. Any suggestions on what information we should get before approaching and how we should approach. This house is not on the market and for all we know the owner doesn’t want to sell - but from the looks of it she has neither the ability or money to maintain the place. We are thinking offering a small cash amount up-front to help her move and secure a new apartment for her family and then sell her on steady income (seller financing) – essentially convert her “asset” into a cash stream for her family.

Any suggestions / ideas are appreciated!

-Matt in San Diego

Another approach… - Posted by Eduardo (OR)

Posted by Eduardo (OR) on April 19, 2000 at 18:43:22:

Matt–