Bad deals-money tight-should I go to convntion? - Posted by KatieFL

Posted by SusanL.–FL on March 21, 2001 at 09:22:03:

A copy of this is going home with me tonight for Kenny to read while he reads his weary bones on the couch!

GREAT post! Keep up the good work, John. Perserverence always pays off!

Susan

Bad deals-money tight-should I go to convntion? - Posted by KatieFL

Posted by KatieFL on March 19, 2001 at 20:14:02:

My situation:
I am a beginner, I’ve done a rehab that was somewhat skinny (Yes, I know, I should have listened to warnings on this site better). Anyway it’s been on the market for 6 months, 5 of which it was tied up in a contract (buyer backed out last week).

I have another house that I rehabbed and will be on the market next week.

At the same time, we bought a rehab for our personal residence (it was a great deal and completely worth it) and put repair costs on credit cards which were supposed to be paid off by the sale of house #1.

We have a buyers market here. Houses sit on the market forever.
At this point I cannot afford to use l/o, seller financing and am unable to refinance so far to get enough cash out. Monthly payments on three houses plus interest charges on credit cards are eating me alive.

Here is my questions:
Would going to convention be practical at this time? I have no money to even advertise in a newspaper right now, so how would I be able to do any deals?

Should I put all RE business on hold until the two houses sell?

So far I have not been able to find one decent property for a flip, and called all FSBOs and used tired landlord method for finding l/o for a few months without any results.

Thank you.
Katie

You guys are awesome! - Posted by KatieFL

Posted by KatieFL on March 21, 2001 at 14:27:22:

When I posted my question, I kind of expected that most people would say “Go”, but I never expected to be encouraged and motivated this much.