Bad news received... - Posted by Christopher - WA

Posted by Ron (MD) on July 20, 2003 at 15:59:37:

Christopher,

I’m no expert on the structural problems you’ve described, but I have had to deal with situations that sound similar.

I think your biggest problem may be the contractor(s) that you showed the house to. Come contractors are accustomed to doing relatively routine carpentry, etc. Others…especially those who’ve been around awhile and are used to working on older homes, would bring over a couple jacks, some new joists and posts and have this thing fairly level in a day.

I have a couple competent contractors who would have no clue how to deal with this. Fortunately, I have another who would probably fix it for $500.

It may take some effort, but hunt for the right contractor for this job. It may not be nearly as bad as you (or the first contractor) think.

Ron Guy

Bad news received… - Posted by Christopher - WA

Posted by Christopher - WA on July 19, 2003 at 14:39:04:

While looking into having the floors leveled in my rental house (currently vacant), I’ve been told that I’m looking at 30-40k worth of work. The entire floor system needs to be replaced as it was never adequate to support the structure and has been settling for 60 years. Every contractor I’ve ever talked to about this house has insisted that it wasn’t worth putting money into. Now I guess it’s time to unload it and move on. I only see two options: Sell it to a developer who’ll do a tear-down or partner with someone to develop and sell it.

My question is, how do I market to developers that would be interested in the lot? It’s in a prime inner-city location. Would it be worthwhile to get it in the MLS? I plan to FSBO it.

I just refinanced it so there is only 20% equity available.

Thanks for any advice.

Re: Bad news received… - Posted by Scott

Posted by Scott on July 21, 2003 at 20:11:26: