bankruptcy vs. foreclosure - Posted by Colleen

Posted by E.Eka on October 29, 2003 at 11:51:37:

You’ll never know unless you try.

The bank would rather get some money now, rather then run the risk of get less or nothing from the bankruptcy trustee.

bankruptcy vs. foreclosure - Posted by Colleen

Posted by Colleen on October 29, 2003 at 24:25:32:

I’m just beginning to get my feet wet in learning this business, and am going to start with short sales. I had a gal e-mail me who wants to sell her home now, has filed bankruptcy and is wanting to avoid foreclosure. Can someone tell me the basic difference between bankruptcy vs foreclosure and how short selling can be of benefit to one or both? Thanks for any info you can give. Feel free to e-mail me directly. - Colleen

Re: bankruptcy vs. foreclosure - Posted by E.Eka

Posted by E.Eka on October 29, 2003 at 09:00:55:

Colleen,

Bankruptcy and foreclosure aren’t necessarily related. They however can be. A person or debtor VOLUNTARILY files for bankruptcy when they can’t pay their debts as they become due. It’s voluntary because the debtor chose that option. Creditors can also force a debtor into bankruptcy. Either way, the bankruptcy goes to court where a trustee or administrator is appointed to take care of/divide the property of the debtor.

Creditors are one of 2 things. Secured or unsecured or a combination of both. A debt is secured when a particular property is offered as collateral for a loan or the creditor attaches to property of which the money was lent for. For example when you buy a car and are financed by a lender, the loan is “secured” by the car. If you default or fail to pay as agreed in your financing statement, the lender will repossess the vehicle.

Unsecured debt is debt that has no particular collateral associated with it. For example your visa/mastercard credit card debt. If you fail to pay, visa or mastercard is not going to come take your sweaters, dinners, vacation trips etc.