Beginner Help (college student) - Posted by Jason

Posted by Jason on January 11, 2001 at 15:01:55:

Thanks Ed…I will be sure to check out the article to read it to more detail…Thank you for your time!

Beginner Help (college student) - Posted by Jason

Posted by Jason on January 11, 2001 at 01:17:26:

Hello all! I am a college student in Baton Rouge, LA. I am fascinated by all of the knowledge there is to learn about real estate investing. I realize that I have barely scratched the surface, however, I am ready to begin taking the steps to a better future.

My question is this:

What possibilities do I have as a 19 year old college student in getting financing on some type of multi family housing? What steps do I need to take. I would like to own/manage a few small complexes while in school and get a jump start so to speak.

What are the steps I should take starting with finding a place that interests me to closing the deal? Any and all information would be greatly appreciated. Please understand…although I may be young, I am very serious about this and I plan to put 110% into this as soon as I can find the right path to take…Thank you for your time!

Jason

Re: Beginner Help (college student) - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on January 11, 2001 at 10:17:21:

Jason,

Just the day before yesterday, I answered a post on the Main News Group to an 18-year-old name Ryan. If you don’t mind I will share that post with you.

Ryan,

I’d give anything to be your age and know what I know. When I was your age, I couldn’t find my behind with both hands. So I want to compliment you for your maturity and desire of wanting to get a head.

Ryan, you state, “I guess I am just at the point where I don’t know if an 18 year old can do it.” Ryan, you can’t do it, if you think you can’t do it.

Ryan, I won’t con you and tell you that your age isn’t a hindrance. Sure it’s going to get in your way. Get in your way is one thing, stopping you is another.