best structure for this sell - Posted by chris

Posted by Ed Garcia on February 25, 2001 at 14:24:14:

Chris,

That’s why I said at the end, “I think a lot would depend on what you have going at the time.” I think it’s a matter of what you’ve got working. You could always put the property up and test the market. Bet it wouldn’t hurt to have a 1031 exchange.

Ed Garcia

best structure for this sell - Posted by chris

Posted by chris on February 25, 2001 at 01:22:58:

I am new to the type of creative investing that I am learning about here, but I do have a rental property that I obtained traditionally. It has a mortgage balance of $50k and a value of about $70k.

I owned it free and clear and then used the equity in it to purchase a quadraplex that I get positive cash flow on, and live in for free. However, now, with taxes and interest, I am losing $100/mo on the first property. I am still living for free and netting cashflow when you consider the two properties together, but I feel like Im losing needlessly on the first property.

Should I sell that place and use the capital to get into another positive cashflow situation somewhere else? Its what I feel makes the most sense.

If so, would a traditional sale be the best means?

Thanks,

Chris (25 y/o newbie)

Re: best structure for this sell - Posted by Mike C

Posted by Mike C on February 25, 2001 at 16:38:34:

Chris -