Boy did I mess up! . Help Please! (Kinda Long) - Posted by Brad

Posted by sfshadow on January 23, 2001 at 15:52:36:

Thanks so much for posting your story, it is tempting to enter into deals with tradesmen it all sounds so reasonable and thrifty in the beginning. I like contracts, certificates of insurance, deadlines etc…I actually had a seductive (not sex…)conversation with a guy who could do work for me, tried to convince me he would work while living in a rehab, blah, blah…I said no. As a paralegal I also look at all liability stuff, do you really want someone living in a property that isn’t really habitable?, equipment left around, possible electrical problems, you all have been around work sites…also, why would someone who is supposed to work for rent work at rocket speed?

And Brad your attorney was so right. Everyone…never, never, never turn the utilities off on a tenant. Especially if you screwed up and didn’t take care of business. that is just wrong. Also, don’t change locks without the sheriff present. just my 2 cents.
sfshadow

Boy did I mess up! . Help Please! (Kinda Long) - Posted by Brad

Posted by Brad on January 23, 2001 at 10:45:54:

Ahh… the old landlord tenant problem.
I bought the property a few months ago for rehab and then rental. Had a guy who did painting work for me in the past as well as a few freinds. He needed a place to stay and I needed painting work done as well as some carpentry which his freind does. I said fine, my wife’s known both of these guys for years, and it seems like a good deal to me - work in exchange for a place to live for two months. The carpenter did his work Ok but the painter hurt his leg and couldn’t work. Fine I said I’ll paint. So I did and everything’s fine I thought. The carpenter moved out early so no problem there, but the painter is refusing to move and claims he hurt his leg on the property which is b.s. because the carpenter says it was down the street.