Buying at Sheriffs Auction-need quick help - Posted by Brian, WI

Posted by Woody (MI) on February 24, 2002 at 05:07:50:

As a fan of your posts I would like to say it’s great to have you back. I just love reading your answers as they always show a great deal of thought and creativity. I guess I just wanted you to know that I, and I am sure many others, have missed you.

Sincerely,
Woody

Buying at Sheriffs Auction-need quick help - Posted by Brian, WI

Posted by Brian, WI on February 19, 2002 at 16:00:33:

Hi,

There is a house to go for sale at the court house on March 4th, 2002. Although I’ve not been in this house(3 bd 1 bth) ranch, I’m a police officer and other officers have because it is vacant and neighbor kids have been found inside. Those officers state some simple painting and carpet would make this good to go.

Anyway, I have money and am thinking about going to the auction and try to buy this one. Question is, should I?

Being new to this(I’ll be going to the convention though), I don’t know if the risk is worth the reward.

Just pulling numbers from a hat on this one: suppose I can buy at auction for about $60K, put about 3K into it, it can easily sell for $90K without having to “dicker” on the price.

Your thoughts, concerns?

Thanks

Brian, Wi

Re: Buying at Sheriffs Auction - Posted by JT-IN

Posted by JT-IN on February 19, 2002 at 18:43:31:

Brian:

Essentially, how you describe this deal, is exactly how it works… that is what I do everyday; buy at wholesale, sell at retail.