Buying--from start to finish - Posted by jb

Posted by David Garcia on February 09, 2002 at 24:02:14:

There are many ways to buy a home. Lease/Option, subject to, owner financing (some similarities to LO but different)

Basic steps are:

1. Find home
  2. Speak to owner
  3. Sign contract
  4. Give Earnest Money
  5. Get a loan (unless owner finance or LO or subject to)
  6. Choose a lawyer
  7. Go to closing

These are general steps. depending on the financing steps will vary.

Buying–from start to finish - Posted by jb

Posted by jb on February 08, 2002 at 23:12:30:

As so many of us are, I’m just getting started in REI. My question is really so basic that I’m almost ashamed to ask it, but I will anyway…

I have only ever bought one house in my life (the one I live in now). My agent took care of everything and we just showed up and signed papers. If somebody could provide a step-by-step walk-through of buying real estate from offer to close, I would be very appreciative. I understand the basic, offer/acceptance/close, but if somebody with experience could provide a real world perspective on all the things that happen from start to finish (title searches, taxes, insurance, etc.) that would help me a lot.

Thanks in advance for the info!

jb

Oops–my question was too broad! - Posted by jb

Posted by jb on February 09, 2002 at 11:14:25:

Thanks Eric and David both for responding to my first note. I should have been a little more specific in my first post. I’ll try again.

I do understand the basics as outlined in David’s post. I am a little bit fuzzy, though, on what parties are involved and the timeline between acceptance of my offer and going to closing.