buying reo properties - Posted by erik

Posted by Rich-CA on June 05, 2007 at 07:17:07:

It came to $5,000 in closing costs and when you do the math it was exactly the same dollar amount, from my point of view, as the previous offer that they rejected. I moved the CC from outside the contract to the seller’s column. I thought maybe it was buried in the offer, but on the last page it spelled it out plain as day.

This is how I concluded that the REO officer had a goal of getting as close to asking as possible using a simplistic comparison of asking and offer prices.

Would not work with HUD as their formula takes into account every dime you want back from them for various costs.

buying reo properties - Posted by erik

Posted by erik on June 04, 2007 at 19:32:53:

I’m a newbie trying to get my first deal. was wondering the best to negotiate a reo deal

Re: buying reo properties - Posted by GS

Posted by GS on June 05, 2007 at 12:59:54:

CASH

Banks LOVE cash offers.

Especially if there are multiple offers. You could be $5k lower and still
win.

Re: buying reo properties - Posted by PC42

Posted by PC42 on June 05, 2007 at 08:41:30:

Around here anyway, the banks will systematically lower the price every 30 days or so. Not a lot, however, usually in $5k increments, give or take. You have to do your own math and decide what the house is worth to you and make that your offer. Getting an offer accepted is only a win if it’s a great price for you. Anyone can get an offer accepted if it’s a great price for the bank. Every time you see a price change, re-submit the offer. Always include an earnest deposit check so the listing agent has to do his/her work and can’t just blow you off.

Re: buying reo properties - Posted by arlan

Posted by arlan on June 05, 2007 at 06:31:53:

Don’t be afraid to offer a crazy low offer. All they can say is no.