C.O.G. Chart and Texas RE Law - Posted by Michael

Posted by Michael on February 08, 2000 at 10:51:58:

Thanks Steph…you answered my questions.

“Do on” = “Due on”…I have lots to learn (smile).

Michael

C.O.G. Chart and Texas RE Law - Posted by Michael

Posted by Michael on February 07, 2000 at 20:31:08:

Hi there

I’m a newbie and recently began studying C. Sheets’ “No Money Down” course. Would someone with some experience please help me with a couple of questions:

1. What’s the quick and dirty on “Do on” clauses?

2. Are there any “Creative Finance - No Money Down Techniques”, as listed on C. Sheets C.O.G. (Creative Options Grid) Chart, that aren’t Kosher with Tx RE law OR simply won’t work in Texas (because of financial institution practices/policies, etc.). If I recall correctly, one message-board participant indicated some banks (or maybe just one bank) in Georgia didn’t think too highly of wrap-around mortgages.

I plan to soon get my feet wet pursuing a single-family property or duplex…but don’t want to make a major boo boo at the git go.

Thanks for your time…Newbie in Dallas

Re: C.O.G. Chart and Texas RE Law - Posted by steph in tex

Posted by steph in tex on February 08, 2000 at 07:43:47:

Michael,
I’m no pro- but i’ll take a shot at what i make of your questions…

I am assuming that the down and dirty “do on” clause that you are talking about is the ever-popular, hot topic- the “due on sale” clause. Basicly this is a clause in a mortgage that provides, at the option of the lender, that the balance of the note be due immediately once the property is sold or ownership is transfered - otherwise known as an acceleration. Of course there are ways to get around the due on sale clause - don’t let it scare you off, just understand it and what’s it’s implications are. Only then we you be ready to work around it.