Can I do this? - Posted by Kristy-AZ

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on July 20, 2002 at 10:15:57:

It’s my birthday, I can take it. :slight_smile:

I get the picture now. Just wanted to make sure.

Can I do this? - Posted by Kristy-AZ

Posted by Kristy-AZ on July 19, 2002 at 03:28:04:

I am an investor in Arizona. Not new to investing, just new to this type of investing. Anyway, I am also a RE Agent. I have written 20 offers to REO’s, Fix up homes and Pre-Foreclosures. I have put my husband down as the buyer, but also disclosed my relationship to him in the contract. I think this is hurting my deals.

My question is, can I put my brother down as the buyer, he has a different last name, then have him quitclaim it to us or assign it to us at closing? Our 9 page contract does not state anywhere that the contract can’t be assigned, which is what we would be doing anyway. Flipping the property to another investor.

Can this be done? I feel the offers would be looked at more seriously, if it looked like I was actually working for a buyer other than my husband, especially by the REO’s.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Kristy

Re: Can I do this? - Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA)

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on July 19, 2002 at 11:34:40:

Kristy, especially the REO’s, are you offering their full price? If full price and being denied, then that could be the problem, but I don’t think the bank would care. Same with fixers, are they full priced offers and being turned down because of the buyer? I don’t think a seller is going to care who is buying the property if the price is right. Could it be as simple as you are offering a low purchase price, and the seller is just saying no based on price; not who the buyer is?

Do you have any reasons to think that having a related party to the transaction is hurting the deal?