Can you Rehab a Manufactured Home? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brad on April 25, 2002 at 15:28:40:

the problem was that all the floor had to be ripped out and replaced drywall was insisted on and new carpet. plus vinal siding. this one is no longer mobil. all fixtures and doors,(old doors were not trash and are going into another home in a few weeks. couldn’t find a deal to save any. all of the hardware stores told me no discount if im not a contractor. except LOWES. but nothing anywere on lumber or drywall. also an aditional shower has been installed.

Can you Rehab a Manufactured Home? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on April 23, 2002 at 12:43:38:

I have found a great deal on a lot/home that was foreclosed on. The bank has been losing money on it each year- I went to see it and it’s HURTING. I have never done a rehab before, and I don’t know if this one can make it back. It might be better to just clear the lot and put a decent, used manufactured home on there and flip it.

The property-
A nice size lot with an empty pool. It’s a 3/2 (maybe a 4/2) older manufactured home. 2 Houses down is one listing for $131k, and across the street is one for over $90k (sold). I don’t know what manufactured homes cost, or what it would cost to clear the old one out of there. Can someone give me an idea of what a ballpark is to clear an old home out (assuming it can’t be rehabbed), and put a new one on there?

About the rehab- it’s pretty beat up, needs new carpeting, a few windows, a few days of SERIOUS cleaning- new fixtures all around, wall work (including around the fireplace), some floor repair, and kitchen/stove replacement. No stains on the ceiling and no aparent leaks. Reading the Deals on Wheels book I seem to think that this is possible to rehab- but it might be cheaper to just get a used one (in decent shape) and clear the old one out of there.