Cheaper money .....to make a deal work - Posted by ras1398

Posted by ras1398 on September 21, 2003 at 15:11:29:

True…I tried to talk them down…but the market that i’m in is seeing ridiculous valuations on even “ghetto” properties.The property i’m looking at is in an excellent location and has a great unit mix…One 3/2 and three 2/2 with 4 garages and a laundry room. The High price has Alot to do with interest rates and purchase power of exchange buyers. I also don’t see much movement in interst rates in the near future 10-14 months maybe 60-80 basis points. I will keep looking however but I just thought there might be a way to get a better rate than 10-12% on a second…No one said it’s going to be easy …
thanks

Cheaper money …to make a deal work - Posted by ras1398

Posted by ras1398 on September 21, 2003 at 24:08:21:

Greetings
I am a recent college grad working on getting my first deal done. I am making unsolicted offers to owners of 4-plexes in the area. I have had good success but am having a hard time making the numbers work. I am not exactly the best financial shape although i have pretty good credit . I have a 690 midscore.
The deals are in the 500-650k range. I am looking for 100% financing with the owner taking care of closing costs. They don’t mind because we are saving 20-30k in listing fees.
It is going to be owner occupied ,stated and maybe even NINA. I tried to get owners to carry back but they want the money for thier 1031 exchanges
I have gotten 2 quotes from brokers as a 80/20 with 80 @ 7.25-7.5 % and the 2nd @ 10-12% w/a 1pt orgination fee. on an avg 550K purchase i am looking at a PITI of 5250 a mo putting me in the hole 800-1500 /mo because they just arn’t pulling that king of income. I don;t think i can absorb that right now. (my price range is 300-620 ideally for soCal 4plexes) I work 2 jobs and make around 50k /yr. I only have around 6k saved.