Checking credit for potential tenants - Posted by Vena

Posted by Sailor on May 03, 2006 at 18:39:49:

I charge $20 for a single, $30 per couple. Run the reports through www.mrlandlord.com–quick & easy. Note that your applicants w/probably all have b-a-d credit. Learn what isn’t important (e.g., medical collections), & what is likely to indicate a bad tenant prognosis (e.g.,utility collections; dumb stuff like video stores). I get a co-signing parent or two for 20-somethings. The folks are usually happy to sign to keep the kid from moving back in w/boyfriend + kids. In addition to credit reports I also try to talk to current/recent landlords. Sometimes I have to do a bit of sleuthing to find them, but it is always informative–

Tye

Checking credit for potential tenants - Posted by Vena

Posted by Vena on May 03, 2006 at 17:21:53:

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new at this and learning and so I did not check credit for my last tenant. She recently left (nonpayment of rent) and I am holding an open house on Saturday and Sunday.
I advertised in the paper as potential rent to own.

I want potential tenants to “apply” this time.
How do I go about checking their credit? Who can I get to do this? The online sites for credit normally make you verify a debt that’s on your credit report.
Also, is it okay for me to charge an application fee? If so, how much?
Thanks and have a blessed evening.

Vena

Re: Checking credit for potential tenants - Posted by Frank Chin

Posted by Frank Chin on May 04, 2006 at 09:03:24:

Vena:

Besides Mr. Landlord.com You can check around for “Tenant Screening Services” in your area, and for a package deal they can do one or a combination of:

-Credit Check (need ss#, current and prior zip codes)
-Evictions
-Bad checks (need appliacants license)
-Employment verification

Many owners charge applicants to do Credit Checks but I don’t because it’ll slow me down, and get me into arguments.