Contract Questions - Posted by Latoria (MD)

Posted by Joe (NoVA) on February 01, 2002 at 09:00:24:

I like the idea of the contract limiting remedies for the seller.

J.

Contract Questions - Posted by Latoria (MD)

Posted by Latoria (MD) on February 01, 2002 at 08:09:27:

Hello all,

What does it mean to “tie up a property w/purchase contract?” Does this mean the seller can not accept any other offers? When a contract stipulates “subject to partner’s approval or getting financing”, can you get out of the contract? My concern is that if I submit a contract on a property and I plans fall through, I won’t get stuck. Can a seller force you to go through w/the deal? What are your options? I’m a newbie and I haven’t done any deals yet but I’m ready to submit offers. Any help is appreciated.

Re: Contract Questions - Posted by JoeS

Posted by JoeS on February 02, 2002 at 07:25:09:

Boy did this subject pick up interest. I have to add that even though I have this clause in my contract, I havr never used it in 7 years. I do however on occasion have a property inspected by a contractor, but I have never not closed. All the posters who gave answers are correct, you should never tie up a property without knowing your backup plan. Having such a plan is part of having an overall roadmap of success. The more steps you leave out, the greater your chances are of failure, problems and disaster! I really dislike the term weasal clause. If you are a new investor, tell the realtor you are getting started in the business. They will assist you, as they want to sell you houses.

Re: Contract Questions - Posted by David Garcia

Posted by David Garcia on February 01, 2002 at 16:40:55:

I have a contract called “offer to purchase”
this does not tie the property, its just reserving the right to buy the home at a certian price & time. This can be cancelled anytime & I tell seller that they can keep offering the property.