convention skeptics - Posted by LK

Posted by LK on April 14, 2006 at 21:14:50:

Well said.

convention skeptics - Posted by LK

Posted by LK on April 14, 2006 at 17:20:10:

I was leaning towards attending the convention in Atlanta. Ive read several books but no courses. Ive been buying for 3 years. When trying to recruit friends for the convention I get the question “If these gurus are such successful real estate investors , why would they waste their time lecturing?” Im not that skeptical but I cant answer that question. Is there better money in selling information than buying and selling real estate?

Re: convention skeptics - Posted by ken in sc

Posted by ken in sc on April 16, 2006 at 18:26:59:

I would quit trying to recruit people and just come. Why are you recruiting? Do you need a partner, or competition?

The first RE event I went to was a John Schaub weekend in Vegas. I went by myself, and was so scared that I might be getting taken by this man Schaub, that I didn’t even tell hardly anyone that I was going, lest I have to face the embarrasement when I got home. Well, that trip started a change in my life - a career in RE Investing. Later, I founf CREonline and began attending these conventions. What fun and learning. Forget those people and do what is right for you. If you are in the biz, there is no way you can’t find some value by attending. Frankly, attending by yourself is recommended as you won’t have to worry about how the other person is doing or feeling, and it will force you to meet other investors. As Anne said, they are an easy to talk to group, and als can be very informative.

Ken

LK - Did you decide to attend the convention? - Posted by John Corey

Posted by John Corey on April 16, 2006 at 11:00:02:

LK,

There have been some great responses. Have you made a decision? If you are going get some business cards, send some emails to people you want to meet and write up questions that you need answered when you are there.