Dealing with agents on offers.... - Posted by Charity

Posted by hg on December 03, 2000 at 12:13:53:

Every little bit helps here and there.

Dealing with agents on offers… - Posted by Charity

Posted by Charity on December 02, 2000 at 21:54:51:

I am a real estate agent myself, trying to move from selling to investing. Anyway, I plan on submitting a lot of offers on rehabs this week and I am wondering what is the best way to go about not having to talk to a bunch of agents who are mad at my lowball offers. The idea I had was to submit the offer with a note asking that any counters be in writing only and faxed to me. Does anyone else have ideas? I just don’t want to hear the complaints about the offers if the sellers aren’t interested. I am more interested in submitting as many as I can (that are good deals) and only hearing in person from those who are wanting to work together. Is that reasonable?

Charity

Re: Dealing with agents on offers… - Posted by Lezlie(TN)

Posted by Lezlie(TN) on December 03, 2000 at 05:10:31:

Charity,
I deal with several realtors in my area. My feeling is that if a realtor cries because of your low ball offer, find a new realtor. There are many out there who work with investors and are more than happy to put in your offer. Try to find one and stick with that person. Once you close a deal with one of them, they are usually happy to continue to work with you. Since I put in low offers, my realtor/realtors know that I do all the leg work…etc… I meet the appraiser, I work with my hard money lender if that’s the route i’m going, and I use my own title company. Basically all the realtor does is show me the house and pick up her check.
As far as earnest money is concerned, I find it is usually the realtor and not the seller (REO officer or private seller) that demands the earnest money and the pre approval letter.