Dealing with Uncooperative RE Agent with REO deal - Posted by Peter

Posted by Berno on April 27, 2006 at 14:03:08:

I’m no expert, but I just just my own agent to show me whatever property I’m interested and submit offers through him. He then submits the offer through the listing agent. The listing agent is the one who actually talks to the bank.

The listing agent would know about your offer if you go through your own agent since it has to go through him ultimatly, but I’m fairly certain that he would be bound to present it.

Dealing with Uncooperative RE Agent with REO deal - Posted by Peter

Posted by Peter on April 27, 2006 at 13:35:51:

Hi,
I have a quick question. I know that lots of people have already come across this and I hope someone will be able to help me. Before I pose this questions, I just want to point out that I have nothing against RE Agents. Here’s the situtation. I found this REO in my particular area. I went over to inspect it, met with the representing RE Agent, found out that its been sitting on the market for a while without any bids, and it looks like most of the repairs are cosmetic.

Here’s the problem. When I told him that I wanted to put an offer on the house, all of a sudden there are 5 other offers and they are all above my offer. Few of them have been rejected so he doesn’t think that I should submit my bid because its a waste of time. (I think he’s lying because my offer is low and he thinks he can get more for it if he waits longer) I did research and I found out the house is owned by Fannie Mae.

Is there a way to make an offer without this particular agent’s involvement? Can I call up Fannie Mae and deal with them? How can I submit my offer? Also, if I have to submit my offer through this agent, (I would just send the offer to him and tell him to submit it) how do I know that he actually submits it? Thank you for all your help.

Successful investing,
Peter

Uncooperative RE Agent with REO deal - Posted by Natalie-VA