deferred payments on hard money loans? - Posted by Robin in Oregon

Posted by Bob Beckman on August 01, 2005 at 07:39:57:

Thanks Robert, we look forward to working with you again!

Bob Beckman
Rehab Funding

deferred payments on hard money loans? - Posted by Robin in Oregon

Posted by Robin in Oregon on July 29, 2005 at 24:21:22:

I’ve seen the infomercials and read some articles and books, but am still not sure what is the best way to go about financing investment property. I own my home but have no equity (took out an equity loan to pay off medical bills and credit cards). My credit score is in the low 700’s and I have a steady job and good income, but little to no savings. I have been visiting this site on and off for 3 years, was renting when I started and decided to buy my own home first. Now I am seriously wanting to get started. Have looked at a property just a couple blocks away from where I live that has a good rental history, needs some work. It’s FSBO and the owners seem anxious to sell. I would really like to get a deal done in the next few months. Even if I don’t make a lot on the first deal - I really need to do something to get the ball rolling. I have a teenage son who is very interested in real estate, and I think it would be great to get him involved, as well. My biggest obstacle is financing. I was thinking a hard money loan with interest only payments to get in and get a house fixed up, get sweat equity, then refinance conventionally and rent it out. My question is, are hard money lenders generally willing to work with a novice investor? Is it possible to get a loan with payments deferred for 2-3 months, to allow time to get the repairs done and get the house rented? Should I even be thinking about doing this without a cushion of a couple thousand dollars? Any advice is appreciated.

Re: deferred payments on hard money loans? - Posted by John B. Corey Jr.

Posted by John B. Corey Jr. on July 29, 2005 at 15:41:00:

Robin,

1. I am from Oregon.