Do only fools rush in? - Posted by DeeDee

Posted by Brad (CA) on August 15, 2003 at 23:04:21:

But you’d have to transport it to San Diego, and by that point I couldnt afford to rent it anymore!

I love old houses! Have fun and dont get money trapped.

Do only fools rush in? - Posted by DeeDee

Posted by DeeDee on August 13, 2003 at 21:56:16:

Need advice…

I’m a Newbie about to purchase (38,000) a 94 year old 5 bed Victorian house where I end up with 5,000 at closing (8/20/03).

The previous owner died (elderly lady who lived in the house for a while). Her son got it as a part of her estate and he is working with a mortgage rep I know on getting out of it (The son lives out of state and doesn’t want to pay for property management) and is selling it to me as is. He’s taking a second out on it.

The structure is sound, so my plans are to do cosmetic work and rent it out for $650. I know I can do a final walk through before closing, but how do I check the electric and water. The utilities are not on. The electric box looks good.

Roof has 2 layers maybe three.
Dry basement (which looks like an asylum, lots of doors down there).
New radiators recently installed.
No water damage, fairly new gutters
I’ll have to replace a bedroom’s walling b/c the walls are plaster and there’s a hole in it.
Needs fresh paint and some darn good elbow grease.
Not in the best of neighborhoods, but not the worst.
My note on it as far as mortgage is 500 including tax and insurance.
50% rental properties in the area.
Comps for the area is 45,000 to 50,000.

Final thing I currently live under a lease option (2 yrs). I couldn’t get approved (92,000) for this house now even with the discount/credit the owner was giving (5000.00). Lenders only willing to approve 85% LTV. I have no money to put down.

Owner of the house I reside in is a big real estate investor in the community. My option is up in May 2004. I’m considering doing land contract on where I’m staying where I pay $750.00 a month.