down payment - Posted by park austin

Posted by soapymac on May 11, 2000 at 08:01:27:

Asking for a down payment on a MH is not unlike asking for a down payment on a megabuck home entertainment center. When I was a manager for Radio Shack many moons ago, I borrowed a technique from Tom Hopkins Book, “How To Sell Practically Anything.” The wording goes something like this:

First, decide how much YOU want as the down payment. Then offer the “Triplicate of Choice.”

“Mr. customer, there are those individuals who can afford to ‘invest’ (125% of your down payment amount.) There are a fortunate few who can invest as much as (150% of the down payment.) Then there are those people who, through no fault of their own, can only afford to invest (your down payment amount.) Tell me…which of those ‘investments’ best describes your situation?”

Whatever amount they say, then use Ernest’s closing answer: “I think we can work with that.”

Worked for me, anyway.

Cordially,

Roy MacLean
“soapymac”

down payment - Posted by park austin

Posted by park austin on May 10, 2000 at 20:00:27:

I was wondering If someone could tell me how to
decide what a minimum dollar amount should be for a downpayment considering a person has alright credit,
poor credit good credit etc. I realize that its possible
for a person to do a few thousand dollars in damage to
a mobile home, but generally speaking on average what
kind of downpayment do I need to cover my gluteous-maximus
for a good credit person, an alright credit person, or a poor credit person. Thanks park.

I agree with Mr. Tew - Posted by Dirk Roach

Posted by Dirk Roach on May 11, 2000 at 13:52:42:

Out here in CA and in a few other markets I know several people (companies) that ask for 10% down no matter what. In fact it is even stated in their advertising. However these are high volume organizations and often times do not even personally show the respective mobile home. It is all done through lock boxes etc.