Dumb Seller Quote of the Day! - Posted by Carmen_FL

Posted by phil fernandez on October 27, 2000 at 18:57:44:

nt.

Dumb Seller Quote of the Day! - Posted by Carmen_FL

Posted by Carmen_FL on October 27, 2000 at 08:25:39:

I’m a realtor, and a retail buyer came in to buy a small condo (about $30K). It was a FSBO, so I contacted the seller and told them that I had a buyer, but only if they gave me a commission. They agreed.

Here’s the kicker. They send me their contract, which has all kind of weasel clauses (… property sold as is … no proration of taxes … seller does not have to provide clear title … WAIT A MINUTE!)

I call him back, and say that my client will only use the approved Realtor contract. He says “I’m a broker, and I know what those contracts say, and I won’t sign it”. I ask, what do you mean? He says “Those contracts say that I have to give you clear title - and I won’t sign that!”

Turns out he’s been fighting the city for years on some liens (which add up to a few thousand), and now the city has a lien on 4 of his properties, of which this is one! This guy’s trying to dump this property on anyone and at above retail! Good thing my buyers came to us, instead of dealing with him directly - but some unsuspecting innocent person is going to get burned. This is in low-income area, and most likely the person buying it will have no knowledge of real estate, and end up losing money if they put down any deposits and sign their contract - and if they ever get closed, also losing the properties later!

Caveat emptor!

Re: Dumb Seller Quote of the Day! - Posted by Ray

Posted by Ray on October 28, 2000 at 11:43:16:

Isn’t there some law or requirment of whatever licensing agency oversees RE Brokers activities, that this guy is breaking? Couldn’t he lose his license for dealing this way?

Yes, but… - Posted by HR

Posted by HR on October 27, 2000 at 18:04:59:

Carmen,