EARNEST MONEY?????? - Posted by Gary O

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on March 01, 2002 at 15:02:04:

pain in the ‘abs’.

It’s not your stomach, the other side. :slight_smile:

EARNEST MONEY??? - Posted by Gary O

Posted by Gary O on February 28, 2002 at 11:00:10:

I’m a newbie and am getting ready to make my first offers, but I have one question about earnest money. I heard that one person, can’t remember name, puts a thousand dollars in an escrow account and uses this same thousand dollars for every offer he submits. First, hows does the earnest money work? When you make an offer do you give them a check with it? Dumn question, but I’ve never done this. What is the paper work involved? Second, if I were to set up an escrow account would that be with an attourney or a bank? What paper work would then be involved with securing your offer with the money in the escrow account? Any additional insight I think I could use.

Thanks again in advance CRE community!!!
~Gary

Re: EARNEST MONEY??? - Posted by Rob (IN)

Posted by Rob (IN) on February 28, 2002 at 15:21:09:

I’m just curious why some investors believe the amount of earnest money has an affect when working through a realtor? By law, all realtors are required to present all offers to the sellers. Would it not make sense the realtor would put more emphasis on the purchase price and terms? Just curious if others had some adverse experience with realtors and earnest money.

Personally, I believe earnest money like everything else in the contract is negotiable. I have even offered $100 earnest money in the form of a promissory note payable upon closing.

Re: EARNEST MONEY??? - Posted by JoeS

Posted by JoeS on February 28, 2002 at 14:01:08: