Ed Garcia! Question! - Posted by Phil Pelletier

Posted by J. V. G on September 30, 2003 at 24:28:29:

I am not a lawyer, but one thing that you may not also realize, when you do a purchase and lease back to the original owner, you may be risking violation of state lending and usury laws. Refer to Bill Bronchicks articles on this.

Ed Garcia! Question! - Posted by Phil Pelletier

Posted by Phil Pelletier on September 24, 2003 at 02:52:26:

I am trying to help a friend out who is gacing foreclosure. He is willing to Quit Claim Deed me his house after I purchase the first mortgage on his home at a discount. He now owes $61,000 on a conservatively valued $80,000 home. He also has a $10,000 second mortgage that he will be paying off at a 75% discount tomorrow. Except for the first mortgage, the home has no other liens. The investor who now has the first mortgage will sell me the note for between $21,000 (my first offer) and $50,000, their verbal “pie in the sky, you’ll never pay this, will you?” counter offer. I figure they will settle for around $35,000. My friend will have $9500 in cash after he pays off his second mortgage tomorrow. He will send it to me as a lease option payment.

My question for you is this: If my friend Quit Claim Deed’s me his home, can I buy the note from the first position investor using conventional financing? Or do I need Hard Money, then refinance into conventional?

My friend will pay me $550/month rent while he reestablishes his credit and applies for a loan to buy the home back from me at $45,000.

I figure there is about $20,000 to be made here, plus about $200/month in positive cashflow. Can I use conventional financing to secure the note if the home is deeded to me?

Phil Pelletier
503-709-8184

Any Loan Brokers in Pittsburgh that can chime in here, feel free to contact me at the above number. Foreclosure sale is October 6th. Gotta MOVE!

Re: Ed Garcia! Question! - Posted by Lyal

Posted by Lyal on September 24, 2003 at 10:26:20: