Ed, Why Is This Happening - Posted by Jill

Posted by Jill on March 14, 2002 at 22:45:08:

Thanks so very much!!

Ed, Why Is This Happening - Posted by Jill

Posted by Jill on March 14, 2002 at 19:59:33:

Hello! I’ve called two different mortgage bankers/brokers to ask if they do hard money loans and I was told by them that what I’m doing is illegal and people in Washington and Baltimore doing what I’m doing is now sitting in jail for a long time. I am stuck. I am new to real estate investing and I’m trying to do my first deal. I want to wholesale the properties; yet, if I don’t have a buyer at the time of closing I need to have the money. I don’t intend on doing rehab to the property, therefore even after I would have to close with my own money I still would try to wholesale for a time. I am not sure how long for a buyer until I start to rehab? Also, can you use hard money lender to just close on deals that you want to wholesale? I have excellent credit and can go to a bank to do loans; yet, I don’t want all of this on my credit report. Ed, any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks so much!!

Re: Ed, Why Is This Happening - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on March 14, 2002 at 22:26:37:

Jill,

When you say, “I’ve called two different mortgage bankers/brokers to ask if they do hard money loans and I was told by them that what I’m doing is illegal and people in Washington and Baltimore doing what I’m doing is now sitting in jail for a long time.”

I’m sure that you’re in reference to flipping.

Jill, flipping is no different than any thing else; there is a right way and wrong way to do anything. If you flip a deal in a fraudulent manner you’re going to pay the price.

Your question— Also, can you use a hard money lender to just close on deals that you want to wholesale?

YES, if there is enough equity.