Ethics and business in general - Posted by Charlie

Posted by Charlie on March 20, 2002 at 16:08:27:

Thank you, Jim. Sounds like the voice of reason to me.

-Charlie

Ethics and business in general - Posted by Charlie

Posted by Charlie on March 20, 2002 at 15:53:20:

Here is an issue that I would like to address to those of you with a lot of experience and success in this business.

A friend of mine was giving me advise the other day when he learned that I was starting my journey in the real estate business. As a very successful salesman, I didn’t take his words lightly, especially knowing the fundamental importance of the ability to sell in any kind of business. He advised me that I must learn to tell white lies in order to be successful in real estate or any business for that matter. These lies would be anything to put myself in a better position in negotiation, in dealing with clients, professionals, in winning others confidence, or whatever else you can think of. I have always valued honesty as a cornerstone to integrity, and I cringed to think of myself consciously saying untruths in situations that are not life or death.

Yet my friend is a successful businessman, and maintains that many times it is necessary to tell unverifiable falsehoods as long as it is in the best interest of creating a deal or winning over a client. In other words, the lie is a means–a means to an end that is in the best interest of both parties. As successful real estate investors/businessmen(or women), what are your thoughts about this?

Please keep in mind that he wasn’t talking about scamming anybody, but what is commonly referred to as bullsh***ing.

Re: Ethics and business in general - Posted by GL(ON)

Posted by GL(ON) on March 21, 2002 at 08:25:00:

It just occurred to me, he isn’t a real estate salesman is he?

He sounds like practically every real estate salesman I ever dealt with. Long on bullsh*t and manipulation, short on facts and service.