Everyone who wants to, pitch in. - Posted by Brett

Posted by JohnBoy on March 27, 2001 at 01:19:18:

I wouldn’t say it’s silly…just that you would need to make it worth it to them to go along with it.

More importantly though, you need to be careful on liabilty issues. Your insurance may not cover them if someone was to get hurt. That wouldn’t be worth it!

Everyone who wants to, pitch in. - Posted by Brett

Posted by Brett on March 26, 2001 at 22:52:27:

Hi, I am new to RE investing and I had an idea I want to run by you and see if anyone has tried this and or if I am a wishful thinker. I want to purchase some multi unit rental properties that are a little run down. I am going off of “Pride where you live” on this one. When I purchase, that is the best time to raise rents if they are low, correct? Well what if I had a day that I plan on showing up with refreshments and goodies, plus all of the materials to fix up the place, IE yard work, paint etc, and invite those who want to chip in to make their place of residence (my new apartment building) look better by helping fix up the place. In turn they get refreshments, a better-looking place to live and I would knock off the difference of the raised rent for the first month to those that help. Do you think this might work? I would rather pay someone that might have pride in making their place of residence look better than having some contractor who just wants to get paid, do it. What do you think? Also, would I run into any kind of labor laws with this?
Brett

Rename the property… - Posted by SueC

Posted by SueC on March 27, 2001 at 12:43:07:

…after the tenant who will own it after they get hurt putting some “pride” into their RENTAL

Re: Everyone who wants to, pitch in. - Posted by AnnNC

Posted by AnnNC on March 27, 2001 at 10:44:04:

I agree, ask the YMCA about their liability issues.
They are getting paid, so they are covered under work comp,so it’ not the same thing.