FHA Loan question - Posted by fred

Posted by Ron (MD) on August 02, 2003 at 06:36:10:

Henry,

I’m not an expert on this…just know the main points. Here’s a link where you can learn more, but I’m not sure you will find the answer to your very specific question.

http://www.hud.gov/news/release.cfm?content=pr03-055.cfm

Ron Guy

FHA Loan question - Posted by fred

Posted by fred on August 01, 2003 at 12:38:44:

I just closed on a condo on 6/30/03. I got it for $115K. We found a buyer who will purchase it at $174K. He?s applying for a FHA loan.

Will the seasoning requirements I hear about kill this deal?

Is there anyway around this stumbling block?

BTW 2 other units in the same building closed at $167k & $163k in the past 3 weeks. Same floor plans, not as good shape.

Thanks

Re: FHA Loan question - Posted by Ron (MD)

Posted by Ron (MD) on August 01, 2003 at 16:18:30:

Fred,

FHA will not approve the loan unless there are at least 91 days between the dated you settled (when you bought it) and the date of the contract with your buyer.

Your buyer can start the loan process, just don’t sign the contract prior to that 91st day.

Ron Guy

Re: FHA Loan question - Posted by jasonrei

Posted by jasonrei on August 01, 2003 at 15:29:55:

I would think you’ll need to wait the 90 days to close.

I have a flip deal right now going FHA. I bought it April 30. Supposed to close August 22. That’s 110+ days of seasoning. I called the mortgage broker to ask her what FHA might require; she hadn’t even heard of the flip thing. I am now waiting on the appraisal to come back. I may need to pay for a second appraisal (as per FHA guidelines on flips). The buyer is not allowed to pay for the 2nd appraisal.