Filling MH Lot Vacancies in Virginia - Posted by Stephen Bruington

Posted by Stephen Bruington on March 15, 2006 at 16:25:36:

Roanoke

Filling MH Lot Vacancies in Virginia - Posted by Stephen Bruington

Posted by Stephen Bruington on March 14, 2006 at 21:32:33:

I work as a Property Manager in Virginia over seven mobile home parks. We have, at present, nearly 270 tenants in addition to 50 or so vacant lots.

Does anyone have ideas for filling single-wide lot vacancies?

Re: Filling MH Lot Vacancies in Virginia - Posted by Dickie McCraney

Posted by Dickie McCraney on March 17, 2006 at 20:16:49:

Try going to you local mobile home dealers salespeople and offering them $100.00 in cash for every home they send to your parks. It works for me.

I wish I had these problems! lol! - Posted by patsears

Posted by patsears on March 17, 2006 at 19:37:09:

nt

Re: Filling MH Lot Vacancies in Virginia - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on March 15, 2006 at 15:43:32:

Where in Virginia are you located?

Re: Filling MH Lot Vacancies in Virginia - Posted by jp(sc)

Posted by jp(sc) on March 15, 2006 at 06:46:46:

The fact that you are here, asking that question, makes you the best property manager I’ve ever heard of. We’re talking 99th percentile here. Congratulations.

I think you’ll get some good answers from the knowledgeable people on this board.

First, know that many lenders for new single wides require land to be financed also, so your target tenants may own used homes. If you have a requirement like “homes cannot be older than 5 years” then you are SEVERELY limiting yourself.

Moving a singlewide home can cost 2000-3000 dollars or more depending on what is included and where you are. Most average joes don’t have that kind of money. Perhaps you could talk the owners into incentivizing new arrivals. How about several months of free lot rent to offset moving costs? How about offering 1000 dollars towards their moving costs?