First Home - Posted by lawrence

Posted by Paul Carlin on June 22, 1999 at 15:04:39:

Yes there is a way for you. You can get FHA home loan. You only need to come up with 3%-4% of the sales price. There is one thing you need to know. FHA puts limits to the amount they will loan for a house. It varies from county to county. Just call some one eles, this first guy is lost, and ask what is the FHA home limit in your county, or the one you plan to buy in.

First Home - Posted by lawrence

Posted by lawrence on June 22, 1999 at 14:59:49:

I’ve been logging into the site for several months now but have never participated. I wanted to bother some of you with some help if possible? I’m wondering if anyone has some creative suggestions about buying a first home with some negative credit history and little money down? I’ve read most all your articles,however, it seems most have to deal with the investment opportunities within the real estate business. I however, am looking to buy a first home. I talked to a mortgate broker and he indicated I would need 15% down before I could get into anything, I know most of your articles discuss ways to get into real estate with no money down. Does anyone have any ideas or places where I can begin investigating opportunities to purchase a residence with some negative credit history and a small down payment. I’ve considered a rehab, however, it seems I’m still looking at 15% down?
Your help is greatly appreciated.

Re: First Home - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on June 23, 1999 at 13:28:14:

Lawrence,

I’ve bought my last five residences and many, many investment properties without a single penney out of pocket and without a second’s worth of bank qualifying (albeit… in the ones I lived in, there were some minor closing costs that I didn’t get back immediately).

Here’s one way to do it (not the “be all and end all”… just a way):