First Potential Deal.....feedback please. - Posted by Joe(TX)

Posted by Joe(TX) on September 17, 2003 at 11:19:53:

Thanks. I’m thinking of making a low offer with an inspection contingency.

First Potential Deal…feedback please. - Posted by Joe(TX)

Posted by Joe(TX) on September 16, 2003 at 16:40:52:

Here are the numbers…6 unit rental property. 4 1-bedroom apts and 2 efficiency apts. Rent is $325 per unit with all utilities included for efficiency apts so gross rents = $1950. Owner is asking $65k for the property. Tax appraisal is $50k. The problem is the tenants are all month to month, no deposits and definitely less than desirable people in general. The property could use some work though the neighborhood is very nice. It’s an older SFH that’s been converted to 1 bedrooms apts and the garage was converted to efficiency apts. I’m not an expert on repair costs but think it may need pier/beam foundation work, paint, carpet/wood floor finishing. Electrical and plumbing have all been updated. The owner needs to sell as he is getting divorced and bought the property with his wife. Any suggestions? What type of offer should I make?

Re: First Potential Deal…feedback please. - Posted by TH

Posted by TH on September 18, 2003 at 06:47:21:

New here at this game, but anyone can see that this is a no brainer! I WOULD BUY IT NOW if I were you. The pictures look good, do the math, it’s a win win situation…

TH

Re: First Potential Deal…feedback please. - Posted by TWatkins

Posted by TWatkins on September 17, 2003 at 21:52:27:

sounds like a good deal. get it under contract. during the inspection period, you might want to make sure that there are no zoning conflicts. you said that it was a SFR that was converted. even if the property has been converted for some time, you don’t want zoning issues arising. if the local government has been “looking the other way,” you can try to get a statement of continued non-enforcement of zoning laws.