Flippin' isn't easy! (Long post) - Posted by Bill Scott

Posted by JohnBoy on October 30, 2000 at 08:25:53:

Usually the deals to be had for a low price don’t come from finding them listed at a low price, they come from offering a low price where the seller says YES. Can’t count how many times where these deals that were listed with a realtor said, “Gee, if knew they would have taken that, I would have bought the place myself!”:wink:

Flippin’ isn’t easy! (Long post) - Posted by Bill Scott

Posted by Bill Scott on October 29, 2000 at 08:12:24:

I’ve been seeing a lot of newbies who want to get into the business of flipping houses—usually because it looks like the fastest way to make some money. Well, it can be, but like anything else it’s going to take some real work. I’m putting this post out there as a ‘wake up’ to those who want to try this. Let me tell you a little about this last week…

The first problem with a flip is that you have to find the right property. I’m a realtor with five years experience and I belong to a local REIA. This means I can find low priced houses fairly easy–but then the surprises start.

One of the first properties I looked at was a building with a long ‘nose’ next to a busy state highway. The price was right—$9900, and I was thinking ‘what’s wrong? why hasn’t this sold?’. Well, it turns out this ‘nose’ has been bashed in by drunks in cars several times. In fact, it’s still bashed in from the last time. This property also used to be a gas station, and the tanks are still underground and they date from the 1930’s. They are also located next to a storm drain that empties into a creek. It costs about $7500 to remove these tanks IF they are intact. I decided I’d pass on this one! But, it goes to show that you really have to know the background of a property or you can get burned bad!